Gale of defection continues as two APC lawmakers defect to PDP in Anambra House of Assembly


The gale of defection has continued as two lawmakers in Anambra State House of Assembly have  defected  from the opposition All Progressives Congress (APC) to another opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP.

The lawmakers, Messrs Douglas Egbuna (Onitsha North I) and John Nwokoye (Awka North), announced their defection at plenary in Awka Tuesday.

“I’m pleased to announce my defection from APC to PDP over reasons best known to me,” said Egbuna, who used to be a PDP member and Deputy Minority Whip of the assembly.

Also speaking in the same vein , Nwokoye said: “I want to also officially announce my defection to PDP for personal reasons. I’m no longer a member of APGA and neither am I a member of APC.”

The Minority Leader, Onyebuchi Offor (Ekwusigo), welcomed the lawmakers to PDP, even as he commended them for their decision.

“I thank you for making the decision to join our accommodating party. We welcome you into our midst as members of PDP in the House of Assembly,” he said.

The defection has increased the number of PDP members in the assembly from six to eight.

Meanwhile, the State’s assembly has confirmed the last commissioner-nominee from Governor Charles Soludo, after adopting the report of the House Committee on Screening, headed by Dr Pascal Agbodike.

The Speaker, Uche Okafor, gave the name of the commissioner-nominee as Sylvester Ezeokenwa, who would superintend over the Ministry of Special Duties.

The confirmation of the nominee took place through a vote conducted during the plenary.

Recall that Governor Soludo had, in a letter dated April 6, to the assembly, submitted the name of the last commissioner-nominee for screening, thus increasing the number of commissioners to 21.

The House has adjourned till April 26.