FG reopens all land borders


Federal Government has directed the reopening of all land borders shut two years ago under the orders of President Muhammadu Buhari.

Idiroko border post

President Buhari had directed the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) to shut the land borders due to the incessant smuggling of foreign parboiled rice, frozen poultry products and imported used cars, also known as ‘tokunbo.’

However, in December 2020, the Federal Executive Council (FEC) ordered the reopening of four of the shut borders, including the Seme, Ilella, Maigatari and Mfun borders.

The new directive to reopen all shut land borders affects the Idiroko, Jibia, Kamba and Ikom borders.

In a circular released Friday, April 22 and signed by the Deputy Comptroller General of the NCS, Enforcement and Inspection, DCG E.I Edorhe, titled; ‘Re-opening of Four Additional Nigerian Border Posts’, the Service said all Customs formations and Joint Border Patrol Teams (JBPTs), should ensure proper manning in compliance with extant operational guidelines.

“Sequel to the presidential directive dated 16 December, 2020 granting approval for phased reopening of land borders namely, Mfum, Seme, Illela and Maigatari borders across the country, i am directed to inform you that four additional borders stated below have been approved for re-opening.

“The borders are; Idiroko border post, Ogun State (South-West Zone); Jibiya border post, Katsina State (North-West Zone; Kamba border post, Kebbi State (North-West Zone) and Ikom border post, Cross River State (South-South Zone).

“Consequently, all Customs formations and JBPTs are to take note and ensure that proper manning takes place in compliance with extant operational guidelines. 4. Above is forwarded for your information and compliance,” the circular read.