Anambra Assembly confirms all Soludo’s 20 commissioner-nominees



[From CHINEDU NWAFOR, Abakaliki]

Anambra State House of Assembly on Thursday confirmed all the 20 commissioner-nominees presented by Governor Charles Soludo.

Prof. Charles Soludo, Anambra Governor

Their confirmation followed the adoption of the report of the Assembly screening committee during Thursday plenary.


Presenting the report, the committee chairman, Rt. Hon. Dr. Paschal Agbodike, stated that the 20 commissioner-nominees met the requirements needed to be members of the State Executive Council of Anambra the state.

The lawmakers who took turns to speak, including Hon. Emeka Aforka, representing APGA-Orumba North State constituency, urged his colleagues to allow the Governor’s nominees scale through.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Honourable Victor Okafor, after the confirmation of the nominees through voice vote, urged the nominees to see themselves as agents of positive change in the state.

He also urged them to support the governor Soludo, in implementing his policies and programmes to uplift the living condition of Nd-Anambra.

The Speaker also disclosed that the Governor had sent another letter requesting the screening of another Commissioner for Special Duties, Mr. Silvester Ezeakenwa, for subsequent confirmation.

The nominees are; Mr Ifeatu Chinedu (Finance), Prof. Ofonze Amucheazi (Lands) Mr Ifeanyi Okoma (Works), Ms Chiamaka Nnake (Budget) Dr Afam Obidike (Health), Mr Patrick Agha-mba (Youth Development), Mrs Ifeyinwa Obinabo (Women/Children Afairs), Dr Obinna Ugonnadi, Mr Julius Chukwuemeka (Power/Water Resources), and Prof. Ngozi Chuma-Udeh (Education).

Others are: Mr Paul Nwosu (Information), Dr Foster Ihejiofor (Agriculture), Mrs Patricia Igwebuike (Transport), Mr Felix Odimegwu (Environment), Mr. Chikodi Anara (Home Land Afairs), Prof. Chika Ifemeje (Attorney General/Commissioner for Justice), Mr Collins Nwabunwanne (Local Government Affairs), Mr Donatus Onyeji (Culture/Entertainment), Mr. Anthony Ifeanya (Petroleum) and Mr Paulinus Onyeaka (Housing).