2023: APC NEC fixes post-convention meeting for April 20


The  ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) National Executive Committee (NEC)  has fixed  April 20  to consider the party’s timetable and schedule of activities for its primaries ahead of the 2023 general election.

The NEC meeting will be the first after the election of a new national working committee (NWC) at the party’s convention held on March 26 in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

On March 26, APC conducted its elective national convention during which officials of the NWC and Zonal chapters were elected. Most of the officials emerged by consensus.The 75 years old former Nasarawa State governor and serving Senator emerged as the Chairman of the party through consensus.

A statement on Friday by Felix Morka, APC spokesman, said the meeting will be held at the Congress Hall of Transcorp Hilton Hotel in Abuja at 10am, adding that the meeting would consider the party’s schedule for the primaries ahead of the 2023 elections and other relevant business.

The statement said “pursuant to Article 25.2.ii of the Constitution of the All Progressives Congress (APC), the National Working Committee (NWC) hereby invites members of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of our great Party to a meeting to consider the Party’s Timetable/Schedule of Activities for Primaries for the nomination of candidates for the 2023 General Elections and other relevant business of the Party,” the statement reads.

“All members of the NEC are by this invitation to take notice of the meeting in accordance with Article 12.3 of the APC constitution, please.”

The development comes amid speculations over plans for the APC presidential primary, considering the members of the party who have expressed interest in contesting.

Among presidential hopefuls aspiring for the party’s ticket are Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Bola Tinubu, APC chieftain; Rochas Okorocha, senator representing Imo West; Rotimi Amaechi, Minister Of Transportation; Yahaya Bello, Governor of Kogi; and David Umahi, Governor of Ebonyi.